Q1. “is God good ?”

Happy New Year, welcome to 2012 – the year of renewing our minds !

“is God good ?” seriously, I thought this was going to be a blog with a bit more depth. Of course God is good, otherwise why do we believe in Him ?

Think about this – many Christians say that they believe God is good, but act as if He has a dark side. How often have you heard the statement ‘everything happens for a reason’ ? which implies that God sends us bad stuff to make us into good people… Most of the Christians I know think that God sends them good stuff and bad stuff so that they will eventually mature into grown up Christians, its as if God is giving them a test to see if they can respond in a way that is pleasing to Him.

This question is 1 of 3 questions which we will look at over the next 3 days – these questions form the framework of our entire Christian response to life and the first one, ‘is God good’ is the real make or break one. If I cant get this one right it will effect every aspect of my Christianity. My confidence in my daily walk with God is completely about this question.

Christianity is not a melding of 2 covenants, Law & Grace – it is an abolishing of the old covenant so that God’s kindness and favor can continually and unrelentingly flow through our lives. Eph. 2:15 says that Christ abolished the law with it’s commandments and regulations, Heb. 10:14 says we have been made perfect forever.

God does not send good and bad so that we can participate in His self improvement program, He has already made us perfect through Christ – no more improvement required. Christ died and removed sin from me and now God is completely and irrevocably happy with me. This is a huge leap for some, it sounds presumptuous and disrespectful, but give it time…

so now I live today and forever in the river of life which is teeming with all God’s goodness.

Graeme

4 Comments

Filed under Christ in me, Grace - the most lavish gift, It's all about Jesus, Renewing the mind

4 responses to “Q1. “is God good ?”

  1. Goodness is His nature.

  2. Graeme: I like your approach. I’m glad you provided scripture to back you up. I was starting get in a huff until I saw the verses you provided. For the most part I do agree. I won’t get into a “right/wrong” discussion, because we all have different filters we’ve become accustomed to because of how we were taught and brought up. I do my best to keep an open mind so I don’t come across as judgmental. Thank you for your insight!

  3. Amen!
    I am starting to read your blogs today, because you are outstanding! I will share this on my face book and Twitter, so more people get to see Truth! Agree with me in prayer we reach more people in plain English and motivate them to think, please. If you are on Face book send me a request please, because time is short for people to wake up to reality/truth /God’s plan for life. There is also a blog ” Keep the faith”, which was opened to encourage people. I shared in it your one blog, with your name of course on what it means to be in Christ. Praying for you to reach many!!!!!

Leave a Reply

