Q236 “am I still a sinner?”

I give myself between 450 to 500 words to write a post, that’s not always enough words to make plain every aspect of the subject matter, but today I want to leave readers with absolute certainty about what I hold to be true.

A few days ago someone made this comment to me; “for Christ’s sake, why don’t you stop playing around and tell people they are sinners?”, or words to that effect.

The answer is simply because; we are not sinners!!!  this blog aims at renewing the minds of believers, (that’s not to say that if an unbeliever stumbles upon my blog I don’t want them to read it ~ but they cannot yet have their mind renewed because the Spirit of God has not yet made His home in them, and so they need to face up to their need for a saviour first); ~ but they are not the group that I am writing to. I am writing to believers… and they are not sinners.

This statement may seem like presumptuous sacrilege to some people, and indeed it would be if it depended on my own efforts, but it has nothing to do with my efforts ~ it is 100% the outcome of the shed blood of Christ.

John 16: 8-11 tells us; “And He (the Holy Spirit), when He comes, will convict the world concerning sin, and righteousness, and judgment; 1. concerning sin, because they do not believe in Me; 2. and concerning righteousness, because I go to the Father and you no longer see Me; 3. and concerning judgment, because the ruler of this world has been judged”. Lets unpack this; The Holy Spirit will convict the unsaved of their sin and their need for a saviour, He will convict the saved of their righteousness in Christ, and He will convict satan that he stands condemned. The Holy Spirit no longer convicts the believer of sin, because the blood of Christ has destroyed sin on their behalf, if He were to convict believers of sin he would be declaring that the blood of Christ was not enough.

Yet; that is exactly what many Christians are taught the world over, they are taught that sin remains in them, that they must continually confess it to retain their standing with God ~ this teaching is the biggest miscarriage of the truth possible, it is a lie from the pit of hell, as Paul puts it “it is another gospel”. I will not have a bar of that teaching, it is the most destructive, debilitating, deception yet invented by the religious controllers.

You might say; ‘but I still sin’… yes, we all fail, we all get things wrong, we all miss the mark ~ simply put; we forget or fail to live in our new identity in Christbut our new nature is sinless regardless, we were made perfect by His blood.

Graeme

34 Comments

Filed under My perfect union with God, No more guilt or condemnation, Renewing the mind, The complete work of Jesus

34 responses to “Q236 “am I still a sinner?”

  1. I was skeptical while reading your post, because I have been taught otherwise. Saved for years, but in constant bondage to shame for feeling imperfect when I know how to live differently because of God’s instructions to me in the BIble. The words I heard while growing up (even now) are/were bent in a way that doesn’t line up with what you’re saying. I don’t want to believe what you’ve written is true because it suits me better, but rather because it’s His word that says so. I have to read this a few more times – if it’s true, it could be the key to why I haven’t felt the FREEDOM in Christ that I’ve been longing for throughout my ‘saved’ years. Like I’m always feeling that my Salvation is conditional to my behavior here. A woman tried to tell me this a few months ago, and I just wept at how ignorant I am to act or think as though Christ’s blood was not enough to cover my sins. And your blog urges me to keep putting that truth back into my heart and mind – that His blood was enough. It always will be. If only I could remember to remember this every day. 😦

    • Wow Tina, that is a huge response, and it gets right to the heart of my blogs. All I can say is that if God has transformed a stubborn fool like me, then I’m sure He can do it for you ~ and the prize is perfect peace. It takes courage to believe God could be that good, especially in the face of all the bondage so many of us grew up with. Overcoming legalistic thinking is a bit like eating an elephant, you do it one spoon at a time and you keep going and eventually it is done ~ you can do it! Determine to start today, you can sooo do this! cheers Graeme

  2. Bambi Lynn

    Reblogged this on Sunday School Smorgasbord and commented:
    Either—Or…

  3. Shirley Cooper

    Awesomely put Graeme. Blessings +++++

  4. John

    Great post. Believers everywhere need to constantly here this word. And, hear about the finished work of our Lord; Who He is in us, and who we are in Him. So much of Christendom, “churchianity” if you will, has not preached the “Good News”. It has abused its members by beating them with the Law. This system enslaves its folks in an atmosphere of “sin-consciousness”. It continues to feed them the death producing fruit from the Tree-of-Knowledge-of-Good-and-Evil.
    All that passing laws against sin did was produce more lawbreakers. But sin didn’t, and doesn’t, have a chance in competition with the aggressive forgiveness we call grace. When it’s sin versus grace, grace wins hands down. All sin can do is threaten us with death, and that’s the end of it. Grace, because God is putting everything together again through the Messiah, invites us into life—a life that goes on and on and on, world without end. Rom 5:20-21
    Could it be any clearer? Our old way of life was nailed to the cross with Christ, a decisive end to that sin-miserable life—no longer at sin’s every beck and call! What we believe is this: If we get included in Christ’s sin-conquering death, we also get included in his life-saving resurrection. We know that when Jesus was raised from the dead it was a signal of the end of death-as-the-end. Never again will death have the last word. When Jesus died, he took sin down with him, but alive he brings God down to us. From now on, think of it this way: Sin speaks a dead language that means nothing to you; God speaks your mother tongue, and you hang on every word. You are dead to sin and alive to God. That’s what Jesus did. Rom 6: 6-11

    • preach it brother, I’m listening – nothing more satisfying that a good meal of grace at the start of the day (it’s 7.30 AM) here. great to meet you John, cheers G

  5. This is an excellent piece. I reblogged it to my WP site and shared on FB. Wish there was a way to reblog it to my main site at practicalbibleteaching.weebly.com
    Thanks for this. It is something I have ‘hollered’ about many times over the years. We too often cast an act as the actor. Sin is the act, but that does not make me a sinner. For those outside the bounds of the Kingdom, their sin is the result of, or symptomatic of who they are. Our sin is symptomatic of a momentary loss of consciousness.

    • Hello Dale, great to meet you and thanks for the reblog. You put it very well, “Our sin is symptomatic of a momentary loss of consciousness”.- exactly my view too. cheers G

  6. Reblogged this on Practical Bible Teaching and commented:
    This reveals a major crippling aspect for the Christian. Read, absorb, and appropriate this truth.

  7. “simply put; we forget or fail to live in our new identity in Christ ~ but our new nature is sinless regardless, we were made perfect by His blood.” – Amen…Glad for the covering of the blood of Jesus.

  8. Hi Graeme,
    I absolutely agree with your stand that believers are no longer sinners and need to come into the full revelation of that truth. I absolutely agree also that condemnation is a lie from the pit of Hell. I love the way you have explained John 16:8-11.

    Alongside that is what Ben brought out, that “i would say that the comforter absolutely comes along side me and shows me places I need change. I would call that conviction…” and this too has been my experience. If you look at the meanings of the two words in the original language, condemnation implies damnation, and conviction implies a ‘bringing into the light”. They couldn’t be more different. On the one hand we are the righteousness of God in Christ and a brand new creation. On the other hand we are in the process of having our flesh crucified which is the dilemma Paul was talking about in Romans 7.

    If I could share something that expresess better what I am trying to say:
    a leader in a large church, married with children, is seduced by a female church member, leaves his family to live with her and together they start a new church. The outfall for the family and the congregation is catastrophic. Confused and disillusioned one young man commits suicide. A young teenage girl who looked up to the pastor and whose family were close friends with him and his wife falls into a downward spiral of substance abuse and eventually prostitution, but is restored to a healthy growing walk with the Lord some years later. Several years pass and the ex–pastor, now in his third marriage, and an international ministry leader, accidentally comes across the girl, now in her thirties. He has no idea of the path the girl’s life has taken. When she tries to tell him how his actions affected her all those years ago, he laughs it off, saying we all make mistakes and she should forgive him.

    There is absolutely no evidence of sorrow, or what I would call Holy Spirit conviction leading to repentance, in the ex-pastor’s attitude. I believe this is what Jesus called “fruits worthy of repentance”. I believe the Holy Spirit surely does try to convict this man of his need to repent and address the issues in his life that caused such great pain to other believers, not because God wants to condemn him but because He wants this man to grow spiritually. I agree he is not a sinner but a saint for who there is now no condemnation.

    In light of this (true) scenario, and many others like it, I am trying to understand if you are actually saying the Holy Spirit never convicts believers of sin, (or mistakes, missing the mark, whatever you wish to call it)? Thanks for your consideration!
    Cheryl

    • Hi Cheryl,
      Thanks for you thoughtful comment, I will cut straight to the waywood Pastor. I also know a Pastor who ran off with the worship leader and caused mass confusion, it was traumatic for all concerned and our church was devestated ~ my view like yours is that this is a terribly shameful situation.

      This scenario, and as you say, many others like it, bring us face to face with the scandal of the gospel. It is scandalous because this man is taking blatant advantage of the kindness of God, and God can cope with that. To a certain degree we all take advantage of Gods grace, otherwise we wouldn’t be in the kingdom.

      I find the most helpful way to process this is found in Gal. 5:16-26. It’s all about living by the Spirit, and if we do, we will never gratify the desires of the sinful nature. Since we live by the Spirit, let us also keep in step with the Spirit. I think this is different from being convicted of sin as a means of leading us to repentance ~ it is more like being convicted of the righteousness of Christ within us, as a means of energizing us toward good living.

      As shocking, shameful, destructive, horrid and sick as this mans life is, I am convinced that we are now living by a completely different system ~ the way of the Spirit… and even when this way is abused and Christ’s blood is trampled upon, the Holy Spirit will not make an exception and point the finger at sin which has been covered by the blood of Christ.
      This man needs to repent, but not to God ~ if has has truly passed over fron death to life. He must repent to those who have suffered under his destructive life, just as we all must, as we love each other as His disciples.

      Who loses in the end, there are many casualties no doubt, but this man is clearly the biggest victim of his own crimes, because he has shut his ears to the precious Holy Spirit who desires to reveal Christ to him. The perfect lamb of God has made His home in this man (if in fact he is a believer), ‘he will never leave him or forsake him’, what a fool that he has become deaf to such perfection. Yet his foolishness will never stop the Holy Spirit from revealing the wonder of Christ ~ who knows maybe one day he will wake up to himself.

      I dont know if this answers any of your questions; I guess I am slowly learning to fix my eyes on Christ and lift them off the foolishness of mankind, myself included. I dont think any of us can change for any reason, but the revelation of the wonder of Christ and Him crucified, that in the end, is the only conviction that changes us.

      my best regards, Graeme

  9. I have read through this blog and comments several times, I do not disagree with you in fact I love what you are teaching. I have walked with Christ now for 23 years and have led many to Him. I was taught from the beginning of my walk I still sin because I am a sinner. To think even after studying Romans 8 many times I still did not get it right till today. Thank-you! May our Lord continue to grant you wisdom in teaching his word! AMEN! James

    • Hello James, it is a stunning truth indeed that Christ’s sacrifice has done everything needful for me to be as perfect as the driven snow.Heb. 10:14 “by one sacrifice He has made perfect forever those who are being santified”. You do me a great honour by your transparent response – thank you. All of us are on a wonderful journey of discovery as we plumb the depths of His grace. cheers G

  10. perfect!

    the best way to put down a Christian is to tell him don’t you know you are still a sinner saved by grace?

    pious but what a shame! right before the eyes of the Righteous Judge we are righteous. and I mean to say “righteous Judge” because if God calls us sinners again the God is not Righteous.

    but in truth, i do sin.. willfully or un-willfully i do sin.
    yes I sin big time!
    but sin can never make me a sinner again,

    sin is never and will never be powerful than Jesus.

    sin cannot master over Christ.
    even death itself cannot master of Jesus.

    the glorious truth, that even if I sin I am still a saint makes me love more Jesus.

    the glorious truth that even if I sin big time, I am still save, humbles.

    how can I even put down the grace of God
    by saying I am still a sinner
    when I know I am forever righteous in His sight?

    true humility is accepting God’s righteousness, and not calling ourselves sinners.

    are we not hypocrites when God calls us righteous and we come to God as if we are not?

    – grace and peace

    • YES!Yes!Yes! we need to step confidently into the finished work of Christ ~ otherwise how can we be seated in glory, joint heirs with Christ, crossed over from death to life… (dont get me started) cheers G

  11. philoangelo

    Oh I love this one… ‘been telling people for a few years now this very thing: you’re either a sinner or you’re a Saint… a Believer or a non-believer… in the Family by faith in the Blood or you’re not.

    You may be a Saint that occasionally blows it, falls short & misses the mark, but you’re not a sinner in the fact that you’re a new creature in Christ, you’re just a Saint that sometimes sins… but you’re still in the Family, that’s a world of difference, to me at least.

    • Hey Phil, funny how this one sorts out people ~ but just because it gets a reaction, shouldn’t cause us to take a step back from it. The finished work of Christ is me!!! cheers G

  12. Can you unpack some more that last paragraph for me? My experience is that when I do fail in my walk, when I do “sin” or go against God’s word, there is conviction about it so that I know to take it to the Father. It does not change my right standing with God, the righteousness of Christ in me, but needs to be made right with Him. Your thoughts, dear one?

    • Hello Robin, thanks for your thoughtful question. I think Rom. 8:1&2 says it best. There is no condemnation, none ~ condemnation and me will never be used in the same sentance again. That is not because I get everything right, but because the blood of Christ made me right once and for all ~ the Father is now continually pleased with me because He sees the sacrifice of Christ, not my failings. Now look at verse 2 “In Christ Jesus, the law of the Spirit of Life has set me free from the law of sin and death”… this means that the hold that sin has over me has been broken once and for all ~ my focus is no longer to be fixed on my human failings but on the magnificent righteousness of Christ which is His gift to me for free. The devil wants me to be continually coming back to my work ~ the Father only sees Christs work. This is a quantum shift in thinking, hope it helps. Please feel free to keep the conversation going, cheers G

  13. This is good Graeme. I have this conversation a lot with believers who state, I am just a sinner saved by grace, and I am like – not very sufficient grace if you are still a sinner.

    Since the fact that i still have the capacity to sin, and there are areas where i definitely miss the mark, need my mind renewed, and my heart changed in areas, i would say that the comforter absolutely comes along side me and shows me places I need change. I would call that conviction – certainly not condemnation which is vague and depressing, but conviction or perhaps godly sorrow, which leads to repentance. Repentance can also be called renewing of the mind to be conformed to the image of Christ.

    I do agree with you that much of the inactivity or even inability of the Church goes back to this concept that we are still sinners, and therefore useless to God in His great work.

    I am His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works – He washed me clean, took the old stony heart out of me, and replaced it with a heart of flesh, and gave me His Spirit so that I can keep His laws! As i love to say – the new covenant Rocks!

    Thank you for this – Good Word!
    Ben

    • Hi Ben, great to hear from a kindred spirit. I am discovering that the work of Christ is so complete that my human failings no longer register on the mind of God, the Spirit in me shows me how to walk better day-by-day, but I will never be condemned again by my failings because I am the righteousness of God in Christ Jesus. This is what energizes me to live better and wiser, not the notion of God with a big stick!! cheers G

Leave a Reply

