Q301 “what is the one thing God can’t do as well as me?”

That question got your attention ~ what could God possibly not be good at ? ~ He is omniscient after all, all-powerful ~ and I am just plain old mortal me.

Yet there is one thing that I can do better than God, much better in fact… 100 times better… 1 million times better !!

I can remember my sins.

I have a hopeless memory, I need to write notes to myself, I need to ask my wife questions about stuff that happened – all the time, I need to ask people what their name was – again. Sometimes my wife will ask me ” do you remember a certain event that happened last year” and I scratch my head and try really hard to remember it, but I can’t find it in my head… and I don’t remember all my sins either.

But God is even worse at remembering my sins than I am ~ Heb. 8:12 “For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.” In fact, God can’t remember any of my sins ~ not just the small ones, or the old ones ~ He can’t remember any, even the really big, recent ones ~ and here’s the real kicker, He has forgotten tomorrows sins even before I committed them.

Now, we know that God has been around for a long time, but this memory loss has nothing to do with the aging process. It’s actually a characteristic that is unique to God, it is connected to His creative ability (by His word He can create anything) ~ and by His word He can un-create anything (it’s reverse-creation). That’s why in Isaiah 43:25 He says; “I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more”.

What we have created, God has un-created ~ that’s how He is able to forget it, because He has un-created it, (as if it never existed). Whatever God blots-out is fully-blotted… trust me – nothing, no-one, no sin, can stand against His blotting-out power. He can create out of nothing ~ and He can un-create back to nothing ~ that’s blotting out.

Now, imagine you are in prayer and a sin committed pops into your mind, so you say to God; “before we go on, I just want to confess a sin to you” ~ God scratches His head and tries really hard to find it ~ eventually He says, I’ve looked everywhere for that sin, I’ve gone through all the records and it’s not there, all I can see at that time was that you were in Christ… now, that is something I remember really well, it was when my Son Jesus stormed hell and took all of your sins, past, present, and future, and threw them in the sea of my forgetfulness ~ that was a day worth remembering.

It’s quite silly really, that we insist on bringing up sins that God has forgotten. And besides, it’s also just a little bit offensive – our habit of telling God that Jesus didn’t do a good enough job of disposing of our sins.

Graeme

19 Comments

Filed under Grace - the most lavish gift, It's all about Jesus, Renewing the mind

19 responses to “Q301 “what is the one thing God can’t do as well as me?”

  1. That was an excellent commentary my friend!

  2. Shirley Cooper

    Wonderful Graeme. Really freeing.
    Recently read the words of a very well known evangelist.
    He wrote that God doesn’t overlook our sin becomes that would be condoning it. It got me thinking very hard.
    It takes guts to believe.
    Shirl

  3. lol! good one! I did think ‘sneezing’ – since I have the most awful cold and I can’t really imagine our Heavenly Father sitting with His Feet in a bowl of warm warm and a hot toddy in His Hands.

    As you can see my cold is making my thinking really fuzzy… blessings Amanda xx

  4. onetenthblog

    Martin Luther once said, to a scandalized Church, “If adultery could be committed in faith, it would not be a sin.”

    What?! Isn’t the Bible full of warnings against many, many things including adultery? http://onetenthblog.wordpress.com/2012/10/20/practical-help-for-christians/

    But faith sometimes is an obtuse subject (though not sins). Your post is thought-provoking, but let your readers meditate on their own faith, which of course is the essence of their worship to Jesus.

    “Even if a wise man claims he knows, he cannot really comprehend it.” Ecclesiastes 8:17

  5. Some of the most comforting scriptures to me are those which tell me that God has forgotten my sins. There are some who say that it’s not possible that God has really “forgotten” them. I say “pft” to that. He says he forgets, then he forgets. Hallelujah!!

  6. mrsmooney27

    Thank you so much for this blog! 40 seconds into reading my eyes are filling up with tears. I did not remember Hebrews 8:12 and I’m sure He sent you to remind me. The weight of my sins has been weighing down heavily on me to the point where I feel like I can’t get ahead. This blog was truly a blessing to me! Look forward to reading more!

    • The weight of our sins is a heavy load – we must learn to cast that load on to Christ, thats why He came!! cheers G

      • mrsmooney27

        Exactly. Its amazing and sometimes sad how even the people that know that still struggle with it. I know this exact feeling kept me from Christ for so long. It seems harder for us to forgive ourselves.

  7. Thank you for this reminder. It never ceases to amaze me how God casts our sins further from us than the east is from the west. I had a mini-revelation last night as I was mumbling to my husband before we fell asleep: my ability to forgive and forget the sins of others is better than my ability to forgive and forget my own transgressions. But God is God to each of us. Part of growing in His grace is learning to see ourselves as He sees us: wiped clean, made new.

    • Amen!! It’s where the power is – how we see ourselves. Trouble is many place faith in the wrong stuff (unrighteousness, unworthiness) and they empower a lie instead of the truth. talk again soon, G

    • mrsmooney27

      That is soooo true! My husband and I were talking about this yesterday as well! We forgive and let go of others actions or sins against us yet hold onto the things that we know are sinful in us. And with us we become angry and upset after we do it even though we know we are supposed to because God does the same for us.

      • The logical progression from realizing God has forgotten our sins, is to realize we are as perfect as Christ – this fact enables to live victoriously. cheers G

Leave a Reply

