Can I tell you about my book and new blog?

Those of you who dropped in to Mybroom over the course of 2012 will be aware that I posted everyday on the subject of ‘Renewing the Mind’. I asked a question everyday that attempted to identify a characteristic of an un-renewed mind, or a way of thinking that has grown out of the culture we call Christianity ~ (rather than the actual work of Christ itself) ~ and renew that thinking in-line with the work of Christ.

Over the course of the year I enjoyed many conversations with fellow bloggers from around the world, your names have become very familiar and for many of you I can put a face to your name through your Gravatar image. You have been very encouraging and generous with your comments over the year for which I am truly thankful. Some of you went so far as to suggest ‘Mybroom’ should be formatted into a book. That seemed a bit of a stretch at first, but as the year drew to a close it seemed to gain some traction in my own thinking, and also my wife Angela’s.

On finishing the final post and signing off I indicated my intention to see if it could be made to happen. I then set about the long process of editing and re-editing 366 posts each about 500 words long. It turned out to be a task that involved over 160,000 words (about the same number of words as the New Testament) ~ at the same time I began pitching the manuscript to various publishers.

It is so pleasing to say that Arkhouse Press, a Christian publisher out of Sydney Australia will be publishing the book under the title “Hardwired to Christ” in both softback and e-book format. The cover design is complete, sub-editing almost done and first draft due any day, then after final tweeking its off to the printer, and to Amazon for e-book publishing ~ I will keep you posted when it’s available.

I chose the title “Hardwired to Christ” as it seemed to best describe the golden thread of ‘Christ in me’ that passed through my posts.

I’m ready to re-join the blogosphere again now that all this is almost wrapped up. I chose the name “Hardwired to Christ” for my new blog also, it can be found at www.hardwiredtochrist.wordpress.com I hope you will drop by and say hello (maybe even stay for a coffee Kenny). I wont post daily this time, but will post at least weekly in an attempt to de-mystify the greatest mystery of all ~ “Christ in me”. I have also joined the world of facebook under the name “Hardwired to Christ”  feel free to visit … one new form of technology per year is about my limit (blogging last year, facebook this year).

cheers, Graeme

hardwired-to-christ_cover_final1.jpg

 (click on the above link to get a peek at the book cover)

34 Comments

April 21, 2013 · 7:38 pm

34 responses to “Can I tell you about my book and new blog?

  1. Congratulations, Graeme! That is a huge amount of work, both the inital writing, and the editing. Glad to see you back blogging again as well. I’m heading over to “Hardwired…” and will follow you there! Blessings!

    • Thanks David, as you well know the greatest blessing flows to the writer as we dig deep to express the joy of Christ and Him crucified. thanks for dropping by, cheers Graeme

  2. Congratulations Graeme! I am absolutely sure that your book will free and encourage many as your blog posts have done for me. Judy

  3. I’d like to nominate you for a Liebster Award! it’s for those of us with 200 or less followers. Keep up the good work and to find out how to accept, please see my blog post for today! (not sure how many followers you have, but your blog has been such a blessing I just wanted to nominate you).

    • That is so very kind of you to nominate me, I’m very flattered. I hope you don’t mind if I don’t accept it, it’s just that I made a decision right at the start not to accept any awards so I can keep the focus on Christ. If I was blogging about writing, camping, music, building, then that would be another matter, I’d gratefully accept ~ but I chose to make this a post about Christ, maybe we can give him a show of appreciation (I think it’s already been thought of before ~praise & worship). Actually there is an award I would like and you have already given it ~ you are following “Hardwired to Christ”, that is the greatest honour you can give me, as I make my meagre attempt at displaying the wonder of ‘Christ in me’. cheers Graeme

      • I am very okay with that. I respect that decision a lot, and I know that you have just blessed the heart of God. I am very excited about your new blog, but I am still catching up on the my broom blog. Which leads me to the question, why that name? Sweeping away the old me, was what I came up with, but I wasn’t sure so I decided to ask.

      • Yes sweeping away the old, there is an explanation in the ‘about’ tab at the top. Its an acronym “My Year Bout Renewing Of Our Minds”… glad you are getting into Mybroom, cheers G

  4. Congratulations Graeme. Your posts helped further my understanding of who I am in Christ Jesus. I look forward to the book.

  5. Patty B

    The book cover is great!

  6. Shandra

    Wonderful! Welcome “back”. 🙂 Shandra

  7. Really pleased, well done!
    Will look at your new blog

  8. Praise God for answered prayers! I really like the design of the cover too!! Graeme it has been awesome to watch this unfold–your diligence and obedience and pursuit of Truth and encouraging others to REST in the finished work of Christ…I look forward to buying my own copy to read from beginning to end and would like for you and your wife to sign it! Cheers!

    “Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever. Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21

  9. Kent

    Outstanding, Graeme! Very proud of you.

  10. OOOOH YEAH! So glad you did this. I have copied/pasted your whole year, including some of the comments by your readers (at 189 pages and 174,479 words). Maybe I will wait on the book rather than printing this out!! Wonderful news, Graeme, and I will check out the new blog and facebook!!

  11. That is absolutely fantastic. Well done you!

  12. Graeme, this is so exciting! Way to go!

  13. I’m in for sure – i saw the name of your post via email and told my wife Corinne before i even read your above annoucnement. Great to have you back in the Blog World. I am working on turning some of my posts into a book as well – also encouraged by my wife to do so.

    Thanks for putting it all together

  14. Though I didn’t comment or read as frequently as I might have liked, I was certainly encouraged by your posts last year. I think the book is a great idea. And, I will stop by the new blog soon, too! Stay close to the Lord! Blessings–Alison

  15. Shirley Cooper

    Graeme I’m so thrilled with the news. Did you ever think you might write a book? Looking forward to being one of the first consumers of the hard copy!
    Congrats from Shirley.

Leave a comment